Tomato Salad

This is yet another of my no recipe meals.  I love tomatoes and as a child would prefer a tomato to an apple, and that hasn’t really changed in my adult life to be honest.

As I write this we are coming to the end of the British tomato season, however I’ve been lucky to get some in my veg box for the last couple of weeks and I always think the last of the summer ones are the tastiest.  I always try to grow some in hanging baskets in the garden, to varying degrees of success, but all the farm shops and markets have so many amazing varieties I buy as many as possible to create the tastiest of salads.

I’ve included this salad in lunches and dinners, I often make up a big batch of the salad and have it with a piece of grilled chicken (or fish) for dinner, and as it keeps well and tastes even better the next day I will have it for lunch with maybe some mozzarella or feta and a hunk of bread to mop up the delicious juices. Just make as much or as little as you can with the ingredients you have, and most importantly; please make sure your tomatoes are at room temperature to enjoy their flavour to the maximum.

 

Instructions:

  • Chop all your tomatoes into similar sized pieces, bite size is best, so that entirely depends on the size of your bite!
  • Add salt, pepper and about 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 to 2 tbsp really good quality olive oil
  • 1 to 2 tsp sherry vinegar

Toss all the ingredients together and leave to sit for about 20 minutes if you can, then just mix again before serving.

Optionswith all options one of the best things is to mop up the olive oily tomato juice: really good crusty white bread is my favourite.

I often add some spring onion and lettuce to mine, if you are making enough for a few portions then make sure it’s a hardy lettuce such as cos or baby gem, soft leaves will just wilt and will not be very palatable the next day

I also add olives and feta to give it a bit of a Greek salad vibe

The Committed Carnivore likes his with spring onion, green peppers, chopped ham and a bit of chilli.

Classic mozzarella and basil for an Italian style tomato salad is simple but really tasty

If you are after a vegan option and want to add some protein chick peas are great with tomatoes.

 

Should you be lucky enough to still have a glut of tomatoes, or even some salad left I’ve got a great roasted tomato sauce recipe that tastes amazing.

tomato and baby mozarella salad
Mixed tomato, baby mozarella and salad leaves
heritage tomato salad with basil
Heritage tomato salad

Leave a comment